The Youth play a very important role in the development of the nation.The government of India has taken various initiatives to create political awareness among the youth. One such program organized by the government was ‘Youth Parliament Festival 2019’.

On 17th , 18th and 19th January 2019, The ministry of Youth affairs and sports Directorate, National Service Scheme and Nehru Yuva Kendra Sanghatan conducted the preliminary rounds for the Youth parliament at St. Agnes College. 70 students from various colleges participated and 50 students were selected for the District level Youth parliament.

On 28th January 2019, District Level Youth Parliament was held at St. Agnes College at 10 a.m. The Chief Guest of the program was Smt. Vineetha K, NSS Coordinator, Mangalore University, and Sr. Dr. M. Jeswina. A.C, Principal, St. Agnes college was the President. The jury members consisted of Ms. Merlyn Martis, Director DEEDS, Mangalore, Mr. Stany Bela, Journalist, Daiji World, Mangalore, Mrs. Madhura, Asst. Prof. Carmel Degree College, Modankapu, and Ms. Nelvita Noronha, Advocate,Mangalore. The program began with a prayer song led bythe NSS volunteers. Smt.VineethaK ,the chief guest of the programme highlighted the role of youth in politics and the need for serving the society at the grass root level . The inaugural program concluded by 11 a.m. 87 Students from 3 districts namely Udupi, Kodagu and Dakshina Kannada participated in the competition.

The valedictory program began at 3 p.m. The Chief Guest of the programme was Dr. Ashwini Shetty, NSS Programme Coordinator, Yenepoya Deemed University, Mangalore. 3 students were selected for the State Level Youth Parliament Competition. SushmaShetty from St. Agnes College was selected for the state level youth parliament and MelridaMoras was one among the top 5. The programme concluded at 4.15 p.m. by singing the National Anthem.